Our Mission

As Envisioned in Panjab University Act, 1947.

"The University shall be incorporated for the purposes, among others, of making provision for imparting education in Arts, Letters, Science and the learned professions and of furthering advancement of learning, the prosecution of original research, with power to appoint University Professors, Readers and Lecturers, to hold and manage educational endowments, to erect, equip and maintain University colleges, libraries, laboratories and museums, to make regulations relating to the residence and conduct of students and to do all such acts as tend to promote study and research.". more...

Prime Minister Pt Jawaharlal Nehru with the Vice-Chancellor Dr. A. C. Joshi inside Panjab University Library after its formal inauguration on 23 October 1963

"A university stands for humanism, for tolerance, for reason, for the adventure of ideas and for the search of truth. It stands for the onward march of the human race towards ever higher objectives. If the universities discharge their duties adequately, then it is well within the nation and the people".

Quick Facts

Established in 1882 as University of Punjab at Lahore (now in Pakistan).
Accredited with a CGPA of 3.68 on a four-point scale at A++ Grade.
1st Rank in ARIIA Ranking 2021 amongst University & Deemed to be University (Government & Government Aided) (Technical).
Ranked 4th amongst Indian institutes / universities by International Ranking Agency, the Times Higher Education (WUR) in 2019-2020.
Won the prestigious MAKA Trophy for overall top performance in University in Inter-University Tournaments for continuous three years in succession 2018-19, 2019-2020 and 2020-2021.
Spread over an area of 550 acres in Sector 14 (North Campus) and Sector 25 (South Campus) - Academic, Administrative, Sports/Recreational, Residential.
74 well-equipped Teaching & Research Departments alongwith 15 Centres / Chairs.
202 Affiliated Colleges spread over Punjab and one Rural Regional Centre at Kauni, and 3 Regional Centres at Muktsar, Ludhiana and Hoshiarpur.
6 Constituent Colleges located at Sikhwala (Sri Muktsar Sahib), Balachaur (SBS Nagar), Nihalsingh Wala (Moga), Dharamkot (Moga), Mokham Khan Wala (Ferozepur) and Guru Harsahai (Ferozepur).